Cantor Raphael Cohen

cantor-raphael-cohen-recital-1024x226

raphael-cohen-cantor-198x300He comes especially to liven up your hidden holidays and your theme evenings after more than twenty years of career, Raphael Cohen remains a real passionate of the hazanout, and contributed thanks to his long experience, the discovery and the formation of many talents .

He is the founder and president of APAC (Association for the Promotion of Cantorial Art), through which he has largely contributed to the popularization of Jewish liturgical chant (‘hazanout’), thanks to numerous concerts in Europe, USA and Israel.

APAC is also part of the Cité and has set itself the defense of causes of general interest, the fight against all forms of intolerance: music and voice being unifying elements of all sensitivities .

In 2007 he founded in partnership with the Consistory of Paris (Ile de France), the Jewish Choir of France CJF.

‘Hazanout’ is the vocal art developed in Eastern Europe by ‘Hazanim (cantors), traditionally responsible for leading religious services. At the peak of his perfection, this art expressed what was most noble and most sublime in the Jewish soul. The Hazan thus embodies one of the oldest functions of the synagogue. If at the beginning he was the guardian of the sacred texts of the Hebrew liturgy, already in the Middle Ages he becomes the musical interpreter. He enjoyed a status of esteem, yet he was subject to demands that exposed him to a constant tension stemming from his dual role as an ethical representative of the community and an ethical artist.

The vocal ornament emphasized the meaning and expressiveness of the liturgical texts as “Kavanah” (mystic concentration) musical. The emancipation of European Judaism, which allowed the construction of monumental temples in the 19th century, led to a change in the style and techniques of synagogical music. The traditional melodies were recorded in writing and now interpreted according to the scholarly tastes of European music by a professional cantor accompanied by a choir.

A new style, often associated with Hasidic accents and Klezmer melodies, was given by Salomon Sulizer (1804-1890) Prime Minister-Vienna, whose music was greatly appreciated by F. Liszt. The end of the 19th century – until the Second World War – marks the golden age of Hazanout. Cantorial music, taking full advantage of the diffusion of phonographs, exerted an immense influence on the crowds. It engendered a host of eminent hazanim, including Yosselle Rosenblatt (1882-1933), acclaimed as the greatest cantor of all time. Almost stifled by the flames of Nazi hatred, the voice of ‘Hazanout flourished throughout the world and especially in Israel.

Visit his website to discover the breadth of his talents.

Watch some videos of Cantor Raphaël Cohen:

Vidéo 1

Vidéo 2

We call you back

We call you back

Cantor Raphael Cohen

Summary
raphael-cohen-musique
Article Name
Raphael Cohen un cantor d'exception pour Pessah 2017
Description
Venir vibrer au rythme de la voix hors du commun de Raphael Cohen qui sera présent pour Pessah 2017 en Espagne avec Hofesh. De nombreuses autres surprises vous attendent alors n'attendez plus et réservez vite votre place.
Author
Publisher Name
Pessah 2017 avec Hofesh
Publisher Logo
hofesh-organisation

cantor-raphael-cohen-recital-1024x226

raphael-cohen-cantor-198x300Il vient spécialement pour animer vos vacances casher et vos soirées à thèmes après plus de vingt ans de carrière, Raphael Cohen reste un véritable passionné de la ‘hazanout, et a contribué grâce à sa longue expérience, à la découverte et la formation de nombreux talents.

Il est le fondateur et le président de l’APAC (Association pour la Promotion de l’Art Cantorial), au travers de laquelle il a largement contribué à la popularisation du chant liturgique juif (‘hazanout), grâce à de nombreux concerts en Europe, au USA et en Israël.

L’APAC s’inscrit également dans la Cité et s’est fixé la défense de causes d’intérêt général, la lutte contre toutes les formes d’intolérance: la musique et la voix étant des éléments fédérateurs de toutes les sensibilités.

En 2007 il fonde en partenariat avec le Consistoire de Paris (Ile de France), la Chorale Juive de France CJF.

La ‘Hazanout est l’art vocal développé en Europe de l’Est par les ‘Hazanim (chantres), chargés traditionnellement de diriger les offices religieux. Au faîte de son perfectionnement, cet art exprimait ce qu’il y avait de plus noble et de plus sublime dans l’âme juive. Le Hazan incarne donc une des plus anciennes fonctions de la synagogue. Si à l’origine il fut le gardien des textes sacrés de la liturgie hébraïque, déjà au Moyen Âge il en devient l’interprète musical. Jouissant d’un statut d’estime, il était néanmoins soumis à des exigences qui l’exposaient à une tension permanente découlant de son double rôle de représentant éthique de la communauté et d’artiste éthique.

L’ornement vocal devait souligner le sens et l’expressivité des textes liturgiques en tant que « Kavanah » (concentration mystique) musicale. L’émancipation du judaïsme européen, qui permit l’édification des temples monumentaux au 19ème siècle, entraîna une modification dans le style et les techniques de la musique synagogale. Les mélodies traditionnelles furent consignées par écrit et interprétées désormais selon les goûts savants de la musique européenne par un cantor professionnel accompagné d’une chorale.

Un nouveau style, où se mêlaient souvent accents ‘hassidiques et des mélodies Klezmer, fut donné par Salomon Sulizer (1804-1890) premier ministre-officiant de Vienne, dont la musique fut très appréciée par F.Liszt. La fin du 19ème siècle- jusqu’à la seconde guerre mondiale- marque l’age d’or de la Hazanout. La musique cantoriale, tirant pleinement parti de la diffusion des phonographes, exerça une influence immense sur les foules. Elle engendra une pléiade d’éminents hazanim, dont Yosselle Rosenblatt (1882-1933),acclamé comme le plus grand chantre de tous les temps. Presque étouffée par les flammes de la haine nazie, la voix de la ‘Hazanout refleurit dans le monde entier et surtout en Israël.

Visiter son site internet afin découvrir l’amplitude de ses talents.

Visualisez quelques vidéos du Cantor Raphaël Cohen :

Vidéo 1

Vidéo 2

 

Summary
raphael-cohen-musique
Article Name
Raphael Cohen un cantor d'exception pour Pessah 2017
Description
Venir vibrer au rythme de la voix hors du commun de Raphael Cohen qui sera présent pour Pessah 2017 en Espagne avec Hofesh. De nombreuses autres surprises vous attendent alors n'attendez plus et réservez vite votre place.
Author
Publisher Name
Pessah 2017 avec Hofesh
Publisher Logo
hofesh-organisation

On vous rappelle